What are the guidelines for victims to get their money back when given a worthless check?

What are the guidelines for victims to get their money back when given a worthless check? If you were given a worthless check, Florida statutes protects you both criminally and civilly. You can go to the State Attorney’s office and…

What are the guidelines for victims to get their money back when given a worthless check?

If you were given a worthless check, Florida statutes protects you both criminally and civilly. You can go to the State Attorney’s office and file criminal charges, and they will pursue these claims against the person who gave you the check. And civilly you are also permitted to file lawsuit. In order to file lawsuit for a worthless check, you are required to send over a statutory letter that allows the person who gave you the check 30 days to give you back the funds of that check. If they don’t clear that check within the 30 days, then you are entitled to obtain treble damages, which is triple the amount of the check in any lawsuit. Best thing to do is hire an attorney that is knowledgeable in this area and can send over the statutory letter so that everything is done right in the first place and you’re able to win back those funds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *